Eureka College Selects Reagan Leadership Fellows

Apr 27 2017

EUREKA, Ill. – Eureka College has selected four incoming freshmen from the class of 2021 as Reagan Fellows in the Ronald W. Reagan Leadership Program.

The new Reagan Fellows are April Cruz of Chicago, Ill., Patrick Leaf of Joliet, Ill., Cameron Mitchell of Peoria, Ill. and Allyssa Post of Morris, Ill. The award, based on leadership, service and academic excellence, includes a full‐tuition scholarship over four years and global travel and professional mentorship opportunities.

 “All of us involved in the Reagan Leadership Program are excited to welcome our newest group of Fellows,” said Dr. Mike Thurwanger, Director of the Ronald W. Reagan Leadership Program. “Each of them bring strong records of service, learning and leadership.  We look forward to helping them build on that foundation to develop themselves into the future leaders our society needs.”

Cruz will graduate from the Lindblom Math and Science Academy in Chicago this spring. She is involved in rugby, student voice community and the assistant teacher program. She plans to major in pre-med at Eureka.

Leaf will be a 2017 graduate of Joliet West High School. He is a member of National Honor Society, a three-year high honor roll recipient and captain of the varsity football team. He will major in exercise science at EC.

Mitchell will come to EC after a 2017 graduation from Richwoods High School in Peoria. She is a member of the National Honor Society and the honor roll while also received academic all-conference honors. At Richwoods, she is currently involved in Spanish club, Knights in Shining Armor, student council, class officers and Minority Academic Advancement. She plans to major in biology at Eureka and continue activity in student government, event planning and volunteering.

Post will graduate from Morris Community High School next month. She is a member of the National Honor Society and active in extracurricular activities, including cheerleading, student council, Family, Career and Community Leaders of America and Spanish club. She plans to major in environment studies at EC and continue to be involved within the campus community.

“These are all active and visible young leaders who show exceptional potential to benefit from the varied studies, travels and experiences available on this campus to Reagan Fellows and to all of Eureka College students who strive to take full advantages of the opportunities available to them,” Thurwanger added.

Besides receiving full tuition, Reagan Fellows participate in workshops and retreats throughout the school year. During the summers of their sophomore and junior years, Reagan Fellows participate in mentorships with leaders in their field within the United States and abroad. The program provides funding to support travel and living expenses for the mentorships.

The Reagan Leadership Program is in its 33rd year. The program is named for Ronald W. Reagan, 40th president of the United States and a 1932 graduate of Eureka College.

Leave a Reply