Former Secretary of State George Shultz to be Honorary Reagan Fellow at EC Endowed scholarship created in his name

Nov 14 2014

George Shultz

Former U.S. Secretary of State George Shultz will be named an Honorary Ronald Reagan Fellow at Eureka College, and the college will create a permanent endowment fund in his name.

The ceremony will take place at a dinner Nov. 18 at a private residence in San Francisco, where the George P. Shultz Scholarship will be announced. The scholarship will support the Ronald W. Reagan Fellows, who receive full-tuition scholarships to attend Eureka College.

For information about supporting the George P. Shultz Scholarship fund or attending the San Francisco event, call (309) 467-6317 or e-mail the Reagan Society.

The Ronald W. Reagan Leadership Program selects honorary fellows who exemplify the program’s “Lead and Serve” motto by making significant contributions in leadership and service. Past recipients are former U.S. Attorney General Edwin Meese III, former Soviet Union leader Mikhail Gorbachev, former commandant of the Marine Corps Gen. Paul X. Kelley, former Secretary of State James A. Baker III and former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor.

Shultz was secretary of state throughout Ronald Reagan’s administration, 1982 to 1989. He helped forge a stronger foreign policy for America with initiatives in the Middle East, new strategies for peace with the Soviets and a strengthening of America’s presence in Asia and in Central and South America.

Shultz served in the cabinet posts of Secretary of Labor, director of the Office of Management and Budget and Secretary of the Treasury. His cabinet service spanned 12 years.

A Princeton graduate with a doctorate in economics from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, he is a Distinguished Fellow at the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace at Stanford University. His 1993 book “Turmoil and Triumph” details his years as Secretary of State. He is coauthor of “Economic Policy Beyond the Headlines,” among other books.

The Ronald W. Reagan Leadership Program at Eureka College is in its 31st year. Named for Reagan, a Eureka College graduate of 1932, the program selects six incoming freshmen as Reagan Fellows each year based on leadership, service and academic excellence. Fellows receive a full-tuition scholarship over four years. The students are selected from a field of approximately 100 semifinalists in a competition held on the campus in February.

For more information about the Reagan Leadership Program or call (309) 467-6679.